27th Summer Universiade in Kazan,

July 6-17 2013

CEV Continental Cup

The CEV Continental Cup was established by the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) in April 2009. The main goal of the tournament is to give non-elite volleyball teams an opportunity to win the London 2012 berth.

The inaugural CEV Beach Volleyball Continental Cup and FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup will take place over three years, from 2010-2012. Its first part, the Sub Zonal Phase, was held in 2010. 32 women's and 31 men's teams were divided into 8 pools, 4 teams in each. The formula of the tournament is new for beach volleyball as well. It can be compared to the Davis Cup, which is a stand between teams, not individuals. Three best national teams from each pool qualified for the Zonal Phase. The Russian national team played its matches in the city of Yantarny, Kaliningrad Region. Both men’s and women’s Russian national teams topped their pools in the Sub Zonal Phase. The official draw ceremony defined the list of four pools of the Zonal Phase which will decide the fate of the berth to the next round. According to the decision of the European Volleyball Confederation, Pool A matches will be held in Kazan, Tatarstan, on the venue near the Ak Bars Wrestling Palace, June 2-4.

Men's and women's events for each of the four tournaments will be held at the same time. Men's Pool A comprises Russia, Switzerland, France, Bulgaria and Great Britain. Women's Pool A includes Russia, Netherlands, France, Italy, Cyprus and Sweden. Due to earning a berth in the Zonal Phase, both Russian national teams will start off from the second round. French, Swiss and Latvian duos are among favourites of men's Pool A . Such tandems as Patrick Heuscher and Jefferson Bellaguarda from Switzerland, Ces brothers from France or Martins Plavins and Janis Smedins from Latvia are known to all beach volleyball fans that follow the SWATCH FIVB World Tour. Women's squad of Netherlands is the strongest in Pool A. Both Dutch duos are frequent guests at international top-level tournaments. Another talented tandem is from Latvia. Minusa-Jursone, 2009 European champions, are to claim the berth to the next round. And Russian national teams will do their best to gladden fans as well.

The winners of the Zonal Phase of the CEV Continental Cup will qualify for the final round of the tournament. The teams that take second-to-fifth places in the pools, will get to the Continental Cup semifinal. Both tournaments are scheduled for 2012.

We invite you to take part in media coverage of the Sub Zonal Phase of the CEV Continental Cup, Pool A, which is scheduled to be held in Kazan on June 2-4.

The organisers are the European Volleyball Confederation, Ministry of Youth, Sports and Tourism of the Russian Federation, Russian Volleyball Federation and Kazan 2013 Executive Directorate.

All the teams are divided into four pools in the Zonal Phase, Each pool includes six volleyball squads. The winners of pools earn a berth in the final round. Teams that take second-to-fifth places in the pools, will get to the Continental Cup semifinal which is scheduled for 2012. Apart from Kazan, other host cities of the Zonal Phase of the CEV Continental Cup are Tenerife (Spain) – Pool B, Copenhagen (Danemark) – Pool C and Ilyichevsk (Ukraine) – Group D. Both men’s and women’s events will be staged there.

Please, fill in the media accreditation form, attach your photo (mandatory) and submit them to press@kazan2013.com. Deadline: June 2. The applications submitted after June 2, will not be considered.

Venue: Ak Bars Wrestling Palace
Address: Kazan, Fatykh Amirkhan str.,1